Alumnus of the Year

Meredith Chapman

Meredith Chapman ’15

Senior Director for Marketing, University of Delaware

Meredith was nominated by her husband, Luke Chapman ’14, along with Dave Arthur ’13, Kelly Bachman ’14, Peter Bothum ’15, Candice Fifer ’15, Mike Hoffman ’14, Christina MacMillian ’16, and Meghan Newberry ’15.

Meredith has always been driven to support and empower those around her and to encourage and effect positive change in the community. While continuing to work full time as the Director of Digital Communication at University of Delaware and consulting for a top higher education firm in North America, Meredith had an exceptional year! Here are a few highlights:

Shaping future leaders through mentoring students in and outside of the classroom.

Professional recognition receiving an award for Outstanding Program by the University Professional and Continuing Education Association.

Nonprofit engagement by serving on the boards of the Newark Senior Center and National Tailgating Association, as well as the marketing committee for the Delaware Community Foundation. She also partnered with 27 nonprofits with her classes at the University of Delaware to help with fundraising, volunteer recruitment and brand awareness.

Taking bold action running for State Senate in the 8th Senate District and challenging constituents to choose a person not a party. She inspired friends, neighbors, students and so many more to understand the issues facing the community and our state and to be champions for change.

To quote several of those who nominated Meredith:
“…Meredith has embodied Leadership Delaware with collecting and connecting the dots – but it was never for her own advancement rather in advocacy for others and improving Delaware for future generations. Through her selfless efforts, she brought together many in our LDI family to connect them to her students, community/business leaders and campaign network.”

Congratulations again to Meredith! Thank you for being an inspiration to your LDI family. We all look forward to seeing what is ahead for you in the years to come!

Congratulations to all of our Alumni of the Year nominees for outstanding work in 2016!
Jeffrey Benson ’13
Catrina Jefferson ’16
Meredith Stewart Tweedie ’13
Michelle Wall ’14